HOM NGUYEN × PINEL ET PINEL

During lockdown Maison PINEL et PINEL and artist Hom Nguyen, are producing a bag and collector’s box as a tribute to hospital staff. You can now buy these unique works of art exclusively on our e-shop !Part of the profits will be donated to the Robert Debré Hospital.

History Of The Collab With The Artist Hom Nguyen

Contemporary trunk maker Pinel et Pinel and artist Hom Nguyen, are producing a bag and collector’s box as a tribute to hospital staff. Fred Pinel is a big fan of contemporary art and regularly punctuates PINEL et PINEL collections with artistic collaborations. For this autumn, the Maison is offering a new 4-handed creation with Hom Nguyen, with whom it previously collaborated in 2016. Last spring, PINEL et PINEL founder Fred Pinel and Hom Nguyen were, like many French people, touched by the enormous commitment shown by hospital staff. The wave of hospitalisations linked to the Covid-19 pandemic in France and around the world, deeply moved both creators. During lockdown, they joined forces to imagine Stay at Home, a tribute to all the saviours of everyday life.

At the occasion of this collaboration, we will welcome you with the artist Hom Nguyen on November, 19th in our Parisian Flagship *.
* Due to the latest sanitary measures the event may be canceled.

About Hom Nguyen

Hom Nguyen, a French artist of Vietnamese origin, was born in 1972. His style speaks to everyone with great immediacy, both through its humanist subjects and its formal aspect; playing with the impact of the monumental and the emotional release embodied in the material. The artist’s work is all about existential commitment. It keeps track of hardships we’ve experienced. It speaks of reality, but reveals it to be more vast, with a greater intensity. It combines the visible and the invisible; intimate impulses and evanescent dreams. In perpetual motion, constantly renewing itself, between imprint and disappearance; transitory and eternal. Hom Nguyen’s writing is particularly sensitive to the human values that he embodies and conveys. So many values which, for him, are the foundation of all art: like a path that connects one man to another.

STAY AT HOME

For this project, Pinel et Pinel provided the artist with one of their It bags, the Todd tote bag, in Perfect Black coated canvas, to enable him customise the design in his own unique way. Using a very special technique, Hom Nguyen, exploits colour effects to give a contrasted finish, producing a perfectly executed portrait, combining dynamic pencil strokes and emotions. This face, the standardbearer of hope and turned towards the future, is screen-printed onto the bag, which is available in a limited edition of 500. Each screen print is embellished with felt and signed by the artist’s hand, making it a unique, original piece of work. Somewhere between a work of art and an everyday object, the Todd Stay at Home bag can be displayed in your living room or can also take on its original function: a tote bag that can be worn over the shoulder!

L'ESSENTIEL

Buoyed by this momentum, Fred Pinel and Hom Nguyen came up with a second item - The Essential - a box limited to only 200 copies containing an original work by the artist. A transparent membrane encloses a leather-bound notebook customised by Hom Nguyen using the matching leather-bound ballpoint pen. These portraits, where every stroke is a trajectory which, by crossing with other strokes, creates a face, translates the emotion of the moment, allows a brief glimpse into the interiorworlds that animate us, accentuating the essential... Part of the proceeds will be donated to the Robert Debré Hospital.

You May Also Like

We use cookies (technical, analytics and profiling cookies from us and third parties) to provide you with a better online experience. Select "CONITINUE" to accept. Learn more

Email Sign-up

In preview : new collections, upcoming creations, new products and stay informed of services and events of Maison PINEL and PINEL.

Pendant le confinement, la Maison PINEL et PINEL et l'artiste HOM NGUYEN décident d'éditer un sac et un coffret collector en hommage au personnel hospitalier. Vous pouvez désormais acheter en prévente ces œuvres uniques exclusivement sur notre e-shop !Une partie des bénéfices sera reversée à l’Hôpital Robert Debré.

Histoire de la Collab' avec l'artiste Hom Nguyen

La Maison PINEL et PINEL et l'artiste Hom Nguyen éditent un sac et un coffret collector en hommage au personnel hospitalier. Féru d'art contemporain, Fred Pinel ponctue régulièrement les collections PINEL et PINEL de collaborations artistiques. Pour l'automne, la maison s'offre une nouvelle création à 4 mains avec Hom Nguyen. Au printemps dernier, Fred Pinel, le fondateur de PINEL et PINEL et Hom Nguyen ont été touchés, comme beaucoup de français, par l'engagement formidable du personnel hospitalier. La vague d'hospitalisations liées à l'épidémie de Covid-19 en France et dans le monde, ont ému les deux créateurs. Ensemble, pendant le confinement, ils ont imaginé STAY AT HOME, un hymne à tous les sauveurs du quotidien.

A l'occasion de cette collaboration, rendez-vous au vernissage en présence de l'artiste Hom Nguyen le 19 novembre dans notre Flagship parisien*.
* En raison des dernières mesures sanitaires l'événement est susceptible d'être annulé.

À propos de l'artiste Hom Nguyen

Hom Nguyen, artiste français d’origine vietnamienne est né en 1972. Son style parle à tous, avec immédiateté, tant par ses sujets humanistes que par son aspect formel, jouant de l’impact du monumental et de la décharge émotionnelle incarnée dans la matière. L’œuvre de l’artiste est affaire d’engagement existentiel. Elle garde trace des épreuves vécues. Elle dit le réel, mais en le révélant plus vaste, d’une profonde intensité. Elle conjugue le visible et l’invisible, élans intimes et rêves évanescents. En perpétuel mouvement, se renouvelant sans cesse, entre empreinte et disparition, transitoire et éternel, l’écriture de Hom Nguyen est particulièrement sensible aux valeurs humaines qu’il incarne et véhicule. Autant de valeurs qui sont pour lui au fondement de tout art : tel un chemin qui relie un homme à un autre.

STAY AT HOME

Pour ce projet, Pinel et Pinel a mis à disposition de l’artiste un de ses It-bags, le Todd - sac cabas en toile enduite Perfect Black - pour une customisation originale. Avec une technique toute singulière, Hom Nguyen, jouant sur les effets colorés pour un rendu contrasté, y propose un portrait parfaitement maîtrisé, alliant vivacité du trait et émotions. Ce visage porteur d’espoir et tourné vers l’avenir, est sérigraphié sur le sac disponible en édition limitée à 500 exemplaires. Chaque sérigraphie est rehaussée de feutre et signée par la main de l’artiste, ce qui en fait une œuvre originale et unique. Entre œuvre d’art et objet usuel, le sac Todd STAY AT HOME s’expose dans votre salon ou revêt aussi sa fonction initiale : un sac cabas qui se porte à l’épaule !

L'ESSENTIEL

Emportés par leur élan, Fred Pinel et Hom Nguyen ont conçu un second objet, ‘l’Essentiel’, un écrin proposé à 200 exemplaires contenant une œuvre originale de l’artiste. Une membrane transparente renferme un carnet à la couverture en cuir customisé par Hom Nguyen à l’aide du stylo à bille un cuir assorti. Ces portraits où chaque trait est une trajectoire qui, en se croisant avec les autres, donne naissance à un visage, traduit l’émotion de l’instant, laisse entrevoir quelques bribes des mondes intérieurs qui nous animent, et fait ressortir l’essentiel... Une partie des bénéfices sera reversée à l’Hôpital Robert Debré.

Vous Aimerez Aussi

Nous utilisons des cookies (techniques, analytiques et de profilage de nous et de tiers) pour vous offrir une expérience enrichie. Cliquer sur "CONTINUER" pour accepter l'utilisation. En savoir plus

Newsletter

En avant-première les dernières nouveautés, l'actualité, les évenements et les offres exclusives réservés à notre communauté.